Health attempt #(embarassing quantity of fails)

This year was bad. Like, really really bad. I’m around 22lbs. heavier than I was last summer. Of course, last summer was the time of dental hell, and so my sudden weight loss was more about me not wanting to eat food because ow mouth pain than any real systemic overhaul of my food/exercise choices. So this summer, I’m trying to get a grip on things.
1) the usual, and the hardest: no drinking. Thanks to Sacha’s car trip exhaustion, I didn’t drink the nights we were roadtripping cross country. Then, after two nights of deprivation, I figured, may as well keep this up. Of course, Sunday is my brother’s 21st, and then we’re off to Vegas to celebrate him, so I imagine this 0 tolerance policy won’t persist. But hopefully I can keep a check on the binge drinking/wicked hangovers. I barely get buzzed anymore, even off shots, and I get a hangover off two beers. Alcohol’s no fun when that’s your baseline. I think I’m over it.
2) exercise. Have been to the gym for two hours every day the past three days. Trying to go daily. I even managed to run for 15 minutes. And there’s a financial stake involved: the parents agreed to cover the one-month membership, but only if I use it 10 times between now and June 25, when I leave for Clarion. I paid for it, and they’ll reimburse me if I succeed. Added incentive not to fail.
3) food. I am trying to minimize carbs, since living three blocks from a French bakery pretty much meant that I’ve lived on croissants and homemade bread for the past eight months. I’ve been cooking in lots (bok choy stir fry, Greek salad) and picking healthy stuffs (salad, gazpacho) when the family goes out.
4) calorie-counting. I’m trying this out for the summer. So far I’ve been a faithful logger of my meals and exercise; again, we’ll see if I can persist.

I miss feeling healthy and connected to my body. In a different place, with different people reinforcing my behavior, maybe I can shape up and stop feeling sick all the time. I’m 29; drinking and eating as the sum total of my social life now just makes me feel curmudgeonly and old, like I’m trying to be someone I’m not anymore–that someone being 21-year-old me. The family’s being super supportive; Mom especially is on a similar path, trying to change her habits as she shifts into sabbatical mode. All in all, a good start. Only time will tell if I have the self-discipline to stick with it.

Leave a Reply

