Baudrillard and Lyotard.

I want there to be OTP fanfic of major theorists somewhere on the Internet because of how much I love the rhythm of these two lined up.

Spent the day critting a friend’s latest story (squeee!) and poring over exam books, ones that just arrived in the mail.  Moore’s The Novel: An Alternative History is thus far fabulous.  And Baudrillard and Lyotard just came, too, and really ought be read in conjunction with the Moore, since it will all wind up (in context of the paper that’s the endgame of all this) being part of the same pro-experimental-fiction argument.

Alongside my po-mo holiday care package arriving, with usual bizarre confluence, today’s DSF story was directly relevant to my experimental fiction exam list.  I was talking with a Clarionaut friend the other day about DSF, which occasionally gets a bad rap for the hit-or-miss nature of its pubs, and I made the cheap observation that due to the high volume of submissions DSF accepts, they’re one of my favorite pubs for risk, especially in terms of stylistic pyrotechnics wrapped in the trappings of genre conventions.  So I was 7-rocket-dragons of delighted by Rahul Kanakia’s story of people gone robot, with its homages to Ballard and Marinetti.

This is also as good a time as any to bask in the reflected glow of Chris Stabback, whose brilliant stories blew my mind every week at Clarion.  He’s got a story up at Clarkesworld, and I love it more than hyperbole.  He’s the one whose brain I most wanted to eat.

With remarkable frequency these days, I come across writers who I can use to argue that there’s a strong experimental streak alive and well within genre fiction.  I’m trying to build a list with which to convert nonbelievers.   Valente, Kij Johnson, Mieville…who would you put on such a list, and why?  The more recent the better…PKD and Gibson of course belong, but they’re canonized at this point.  I want all the time in the world with which to read all the books…but then I’d never get any writing done (which is what happened today….).

2 thoughts on “Baudrillard and Lyotard.

  1. Wait! Come back! * waves knife and fork * I am desperately hungry for perfect metaphors and transcendent allegorical frames! I didn’t mean it! * tucks napkin into front of shirt *

Leave a Reply

