New fiction!

I have a story up at Rose Red Review.

My grandmother moved from Michigan to Arizona a few years ago, right in the middle of the housing crisis, which wreaked havoc on her retirement plans (as well as those of thousands of other older Americans).  I was in a rage about the economic powers-that-be that caused the collapse, and this piece was written from said place of rage.   I’d just read Catherynne Valente’s Orphan’s Tales and wanted to attempt a cross-cultural fairytale mashup (more fool me) as an allegory of globalization.  Also, wolves.

All this to say, this story was a strange one, and I’m very grateful it found a home.  Thanks to Larissa Nash for picking it up, and thanks to the many first readers who helped me wrangle it.

Leave a Reply

